will maclean  



New collaboration by John Burnside and Will Maclean
A Catechism of the Laws of Storms

John Burnside’s poetry and Will Maclean’s imagery first came together in a collaborative print–poem commissioned for the opening of Dundee Contemporary Arts in 1999. A Catechism of the Laws of Storms continues the joint projects.

Some years ago Maclean found some dis-bound copies of an illustrated weekly newspaper The Pictorial World of 1882–83 and used the woodcut images to assemble a series of collages, which were then scanned and digitally altered.

The series of collages related to descriptions of storms and hurricanes from nautical books and manuals in Maclean’s collection, in particular The Law of Storms by Henry Paddington. The collages were shown to Burnside who composed a series of twelve poems in response to the images. Maclean in turn altered a number of the images in response to the poems.

Copies now available from Art First at £12.00

Other Publications

Voyages, 1995, £5
Atlantic Messengers, 1998, £6
Cardinal Points, published by North Dakota Museum of Art, 2001, £18
Driftworks, published by Dundee Contemporary Arts, 2001, £12
The Art of Will Maclean: Symbols of Survival, by Duncan Macmillan, 2002, £20   (Special edition of 40 available with cast bronze sculpture of a cod-jigger: £650)
North Sea Archives, 2004, £6
Simon Lewty / Will Maclean: Charting a Decade, 1995 ­ 2005, £6.00
Different Meridians, 2008,  £10
Will Maclean, Collected Works 1970 – 2010, Fleming-Wyfold Art Foundation, 2011
John Burnside and Will Maclean, A Catechism of the Laws of Storms, published by Art First, 2014, £12